Artistic Geneology

Creative GeneologyAs a final project this semester I created this self portrait as an artistic and creative genealogy. I chose to represent Frank Frazetta, James Gurney and Bobby Chiu. I used a similar composition to Frazetta’s Savage Pellucidar, I used dinosaurs instead of tigers as a reference to Gurney’s Dinotopia and tried to make them a little quirky like the creatures that Chiu makes. The last is probably least successfully executed but it was a really fun project to put together. I spent way too much time on my face and it still isn’t quite right…oh well 🙂

I wore this same outfit to class the day we presented to show this is me in the present and the painting represents the future I strive for.

 

Leave a Reply

